Home  |  About Us  |  Credits  |  Disclaimer  |  Contact Us
 Alumni Database
» Search Alumni
» Add your Entry
» Update your Entry
 Alumni Links
» Class Webpages
» Class Mailing Lists
 CET Info
» About CET
» History
» Courses Offered
» Facilities
» Contacts


Overview  |  Facilities at CET
Sixty years ago on the 3rd of July, 1939, when war clouds were looming large over the skies of Europe and the entire world, the College of Engineering, Trivandrum formally came into existence. The institution owes its foundation to the bold and inspired vision of His Highness the Maharaja of Travancore-a dream which has materialized into the mighty edifice of today, the Alma Mater to tens of thousands of engineers who have passed out of her stately portals.

It had its nativity in the congested housing in the former office and bungalow of the Chief Engineer ( which is currently the office of the PMG and where the Planetarium and the Science and & Technology Museum are now located). Maj.T.H.Mathewman, a Britisher, was appointed as the first principal of the college with Vastuvidya Kushala Sri. Balakrishna Rao, Retd. Water Works Engineer to Government and Prof. D. L. Deshpande on the faculty. Thus the college took shape with a small batch of 21 students each for the Degree and Diploma courses, under the then Travancore University.
Maj. T. H. Mathewman
Prof. D. L. Deshpande

The institution has grown and expanded steadily, so much so that today it is not only the largest engineering college in Kerala, but one of the biggest in the country. All the undergraduate courses are accredited by AICTE and are awarded A or 'B' grade.


College started with 3 streams - Civil Engineering, Mechanical Engineering, Electrical Engineering with 21 students per stream in a campus which is presently the office of Post Master General.
Name of the degree awarded was B.Sc Engineering.
Started M.Sc Engineering courses in Civil Engineering and Electrical Engineering.[ courses - 1. Hydraulics Engineering 2. Structural Engineering 3. Geotechnical Engineering and 4. Electrical Machines]
Shifting of the college into the present college campus
M.Sc Engineering course started under Mechanical Engineering Department. [1. Thermal Science Engineering 2. Machine Design].
Department of Architecture was started with Part-time Faculty.
Two more streams in M.Sc Engineering under Electrical Engineering course started. [1. Control Systems 2. Power Systems].
Department of Electronics and Communication started.
Silver Jubilee Celebration of the College of Engineering. The function was inagurated by the then Prime Minister Late. Sri. Lal Bahadur Shastri.
Department of Architecture expanded with full time faculty.
Part-time undergraduate course for Mechanical Engineering started.
B.Arch Degree instituted for the Architecture Engineering course.
Post Graduate course in Microwave & Television Engineering started under Electronics and Communication Engineering Department.
Part-time undergraduate course in Civil Engineering started.
Part-time undergraduate course in Electrical Engineering started.
M.Sc Engineering in Environmental Engineering started.
Course in Architecture Engineering recognized by Indian Institute of Architects.
CETAA constituted and constitution and rules approved in a general body meeting.
A testing lab under Electrical Engineering Department which is an approved BIS. Testing center for energy meters as per ISI 3010 for ISI certification started.
Applied Electronics and Instrumentation Engineering started under Department of Electronics.
M.Sc Engineering courses in Propulsion Engineering & Transportation Engineering started.
B.Sc Engineering in Industrial Engineering started under Mechanical Engineering Department.
Part-time undergraduate course in Electronics and Communication Engineering started.
Centre for Water Resources and Management started. Career Guidance Placement Unit Started.
M.Sc Engineering in Guidance and Navigational Control started.
Started B.Tech course in Computer Science and Engineering.
Started a course in Master of Computer Applications.
Part-time course in Management of Business Administration started.
Post Graduate course in Applied Electronics and Instrumentation Engineering started.
Course Degree name B.Sc Engineering changed to B.Tech Degree and M.Sc Engineering to M.Tech Degree.
Course name Electrical Engineering changed to Electrical & Electronics Engineering.
Part-time Post Graduate course in Electrical & Electronics Engineering started.
Post Graduate course in Architecture Engineering started.
Part-time Post Graduate course in Electronics and Communication Engineering and Applied Electronics & Instrumentation started (alternately).
Part-time Post Graduate in any one steam of the five streams in Civil Engineering started. [stream choice optionally every year].
Post Graduate course in Industrial Engineering started.
Golden Jubilee Celebration of the College.
Part-time Post Graduate course in Electrical & Electronics Engineering started.
Post Graduate course in Architecture Engineering started.
Computer Aided and Drafting facility started in Department of Architecture.
Part-time Post Graduate course in Mechanical Engineering started.
Implementation of IMPACT Project in Computer Science and Electronics and Communication Departments.
Centre for Computing Facility started.
Architecture Department shifted to New Building.
An Extension counter of Sub Treasury Kazhakuttam started in College of Engineering Trivandrum.
A one time B.Tech Degree course for Polytechnic teachers started in Department of Civil Engineering.
Sustainability support scheme initiated by Ministry of Information Technology is a continuation IMPACT Project in Department of Computer Science Engineering.
A Continuing Centre for Education (CCE) started in the college.
A sub Treasury started functioning in the college.
Part-time under graduate course in Computer Science & Engineering started.
A project 'Networking' was sanctioned to Department of Electronics & Communication.
Celebration of Diamond Jubilee Year of the college with lot of activities.
Under graduate courses in Civil Engineering, Mechanical Engineering, Electronics and Communication Engineering were accredited by AICTE; Civil Engineering and Electronics & Communication were awarded A grade and Mechanical Engineering was awarded B grade for 5 years.
Full-time MBA course started
ISO 9002 Certificate for 3 years was awarded to undergraduate courses in Department of Electronics and Communication and Department of Computer Science & Engineering.
The undergraduate course in Computer Science & Engineering was accredited by AICTE and awarded 'A' grade for 5 years.
Applied Electronics & Instrumentation and Industrial Engineering undergraduate courses were accredited and awarded 'B' grade for 5 years.
Electronic C-Dot Exchange commissioned and all departments are connected through EPABX Campus Networking completed connecting all departments
Best viewed at 800X600. Send comments and queries to webmaster.cetindia@gmail.com. Read our disclaimer.